Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Amber tree

Last night Gavin and I walked up the road to the local pub for supper - we were only there for a short while, and were back home again by 8.30pm after a delicious meal. On returning home we discovered that our lighting system had failed, most of the lights could not be switched on and those that were on could not be switched off. Gavin tried everything checking fuses in the board etc but could not sort it. So I had a bath by candelight last night and we went to bed in darkness, Xena having to sleep in the kitchen with all the lights on as they could not be turned off.

This morning Gavin managed to get the circuits back on again except for a few, two are not working which are for our bedroom and another bedroom. Luckily we managed to contact the lighting engineer and he is sending someone tomorrow to come and replace those circuit boards. The joys of a smart house that is not very smart!!

It rained all day today, we walked Xena in a light rain which was not too bad. Gavin then worked trying to finish a report before he was picked up at 1pm by the taxi to take him to the airport, he is going to the US for a few days. I made myself lunch after he left, did the ironing, and as it was such a wet and miserable day decided to settle in and watch a Christmas movie on Netflix, which was cheesy and instantly forgettable but rather sweet. Xena loved snuggling up beside me on the sofa, she loves her home comforts!

I made another Pep Ventosa of this lovely little tree that had such amber leaves, good to see colour on a wet day. 

Its already end of term at university for Tommy this week, but he is staying on to finish a paper he is co-writing to try and get it published. He is tired as it has been a demanding term.

Thankfully Jenny, another blipper who lives in my area, informed me that following on from my write up about the expansion of the ULEZ zone yesterday, my car will be exempt from that daily charge if I travel into the zone as it is younger than 2016 - whew, what a relief! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.