How long WAS Meg?

Somewhere we never got to, in all the 38 yrs we lived in Penrith.
NOW 44 would you believe?  Truly amazing how a day drags interminably by, you blink and suddenly it's next month.

If you've never heard of "Long Meg & her Daughters" there's a fairly, short, concise, bit of info to be found here.

Enter the extras, tripping lightly:-
1. Is it JUST me, or has she got a bit of big Hooter, a downturned, frowny mouth and a Beehive Hair-do?  Not quite as obvious as old Balder here though?

2. That's what the 12' the web page quoted looks like beside me Kebby (My Stick), which reaches, almost exactly, to my Hip Joint.

3. When I got up close and personal I noticed some foul fiend, long after 1500BCE had started his/her own embellishment and, fortunately, been stopped after the remarkably fine Seriffed "S"; WAY better than today's hooligans, but harder to shift than spray-paint? (Just below the top set of circles.)
I'm forced to wonder if a proper, scientific, study would show any more than those two sets of concentric circles?


4. As I returned to the Car I did rather wonder how Seashells got to Meg, then noticed all manner of other strange offerings.  I didn't check the value/country of the money but did wonder what A  N  Other had done with the Tea-light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.