A day in the life

By Shelling

Then and now

I was five, or six, with my mother in Lund for the first time on the bus from our small village 15 km east from here. I don’t remember why we were here, probably to have my squinting eyes checked by the “eye-doctor”. I remember this place from when we were waiting for the bus taking us back home again. It used ro be the waiting room for the country side busses. It had hard, ribbed wooden benches and a huge scale that you could stand on and wheels were turning and there were a noise when a small piece of paper came oot telling your weight and some word of wisdom printed on it that my mother read to me. That was the joy of the trip.
Sixty four years later it looks like this, an “eye-doctor” place but without the scales. I’m in Lund to see a concert with my good friend “Timbuktu”, the former rapper who now is doing a show about origin. He’s brown skinned having a white mother and a black father, struggling with his identity. He wrote a book called “A drop of midnight”, that is now being set to the stage with music, almost as a musical. The very professional performance moved me very much an I will carry it with me in my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.