A day in the life

By Shelling

Finn

My journey to Lund is over for this time, I chose a train home late in the afternoon because I wanted to give time for unexpected meetings but no such meetings turned up this time, my old friends were either ill, working or not at home so, I had five hours to spend roaming the streets in Lund on a quite cold and windy Monday when no museums are open so, many hours were spent in cafés and lunch places indoors. 

As often, I end up in Lund cathedral experiencing the spaciousness and relative stillness in this huge place. In the crypt, I saw old Finn, the giant who, according to the legend written down in 1654, built the cathedral for the saint Laurentius in exchange for Laurentius eyes, if he couldn't guess the giants name before the cathedral was finished. Laurentius got a hint from the angels just before Finn was to place the last stone and said "Finn, place the last stone". Finn was so angry that he made himself small and went into the crypt to shake the church and tear it down but the first rays of the morning sun hit him and Finn was petrified, holding the foundation pillar.
I left for the train at that point. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.