Symphonic Universe

I was quite late doing the menu and shop this week. We are really out of the habit and, I suspect, it’s costing us money to be lazy about this. Nonetheless, I was back from Waitrose by 2pm and we spent the afternoon at home (although there was a Starbucks in there). I also rediscovered Boston Legal (the  2004ish legal drama with James Spader, William Shatner and Candice Bergen. I spent a glorious afternoon in front of the TV watching a couple of old episodes and I could, easily, have done some more.

Just after 6pm we headed for the Royal Festival Hall on the South Bank for Symphonic Universe. It’s a series of concerts around the country where orchestras, in our case the London Concert Orchestra, plays music that accompanied crucial scenes in some of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s most iconic movies.

I am not really familiar with the music of, say, Iron Man, Batman or Ant-Man but it was a fantastic evening and I did recognise some of the music. We queued for a programme at the interval and they were running really low on them. I took it that a lot of people wanted to understand which films the various pieces were from.  Conductor Lee Reynolds was on energetic from and host, Ali Plumb, was excellent at explaining what were were about to hear (and dressing up). I discovered later that he is the film critic for Radio 1 and 1Xtra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.