curns' corner

By curns

Shropshire vineyard

Remarkably, when the alarm went off - a little before 6:30am - I was already awake. Unfortunately, that’s because I been awake for an hour or so with terrible indigestion. I guess that’s my price for over indulging yesterday. 

I went for the bus at 7:20am. The bus shelter at the nearest bus stop has had the shelter and countdown removed so I was relying on an app for bus times. All turned out OK. Bus to South Wimbledon and tube to Stockwell, onwards to Euston. I arrived with 45 minutes before my train was due to depart. I watched one of the train apps and worked out my train was going from one of ten furthest platforms. I hung around and was first on board. 

Based on my seat reservation, I had assumed the train would be busy. But my carriage was quite empty for large portions of the journey and even quieter after Birmingham. I went as far as Wolverhampton and switched to the train ti Shrewsbury, arriving round 12:30pm. Mum and Dad were parked up in their  ‘club’ where we had a coffee before heading out for lunch.

So, I am ending the week like I started it: wine and beautiful views. Lunch at Hencote Vineyard with panoramic vista overlooking the vineyard, Shrewsbury and the Shropshire Hills all set in glorious sunshine. My choice of, to start, chalk stream trout tartare and, main, crispy Gloucester old spot pork belly were delicious but Dad's Pim Hill Farm wholemeal flour crumpet (36-month aged parmesan custard, ricotta stuffed tempura courgette flower, piperade & poached Legbar egg) was the most unusual. 

Glad I made the trip. Home just after 8pm thanks to a pleasant journey home. I managed to stay awake for all the legs of the trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.