curns' corner

By curns

Scillian

If I do say so myself, my breakfast chorizo omelette was delicious. Slow cooking the sausage to release the oils and then slow cooking the egg seems to make the whole thing super tasty. I added a partial teaspoon of extra chilli to provide an additional morning boost. It se me up nicely. 

Left the house just before 1pm and we walked to the Curzon cinema I Wimbledon to see Barbie. National Cinema day got us a £3 ticket each. I wasn't wowed as the plot is too clearly signalled early in the movie and I thought that there were some strange set pieces. What on earth is that office-based chase scene about? Barbieland, however, is impressively brought to life. I am not as bought into the portrayal of Ken as a lot of people seem to be. Sorry Ryan. Are those abs real? We know the tan isn’t.

Then a long walk from Wimbledon to Streatham via the M&S Cafe at the Collier's Wood branch: not really up to M&S standards. Everything is in plastic wrappers. I was most horrified by the sones being wrapped. The long walk necessitated a stop off in Aldi for a deodorant to make me feel fresher. 

At Streatham for dinner with friends at the Streatham Kitchen. Before we went out M&R presented me with my birthday present; a collection of Sicilian foods. We’re all of to Sicily in October and this is designed to get us in the mood. I was very touched. 

At the restaurant, PY and I shared ‘Prawns & Spanish Chorizo’ and I had ‘Aubergine and Halloumi Burger’ were both delicious. Recommended. Too much wine consumed and, for some reason, I stayed up drinking tea when we got back. Fortunately, I booked an Uber rather than spending and hour on a bus. That saved us half an hour or so. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.