curns' corner

By curns

Strike

My calendar had not meetings in it. Strictly, it had my 1:1 with Daniel in it but, as he left the company several months ago, it’s just been lurking there protecting an hour of my Friday. It turned out that one of our weekly team meetings - the one that’s a mixture of chat and ticket shuffling - was going ahead and nobody’s quite sure why it’s dropped out my calendar. I like this Friday meeting because it feels to me like a session that gets things done without quite feeling like it. It’s nice and relaxed. 

There’s a train strike today and tomorrow. It hasn’t made much different to me today as my only venture outside of the house was to get some things to add to our dinner.  It will impact tomorrow as we’re due to see friends in Streatham and the bus always takes longer. 

I also need trains on Sunday as, after last night’s call with Mum & Dad, I decided to go and have Sunday lunch with them while PY is volunteering. It looks like trains are running north OK and, with a bit of timetable reading, I found a return train that starts its journey at Birmingham. Getting on a train at source is so much more relaxing than joining one that’s mid journey. I thought I might treat myself to First Class but there were no seats available. The Standard Class carriages look quite full but I managed to book a decent window seat for both journeys.  Dad thought we might stay in town for lunch but in mid-afternoon I got a message 

Booked Hencote vineyard for 13:30. Hope trains are not disrupted xxxx

It’ll be lovely and also the second vineyard with a gorgeous countryside view that I’ve been to in a week. Not particularly looking forward to getting up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.