Ventnor

We grabbed a coffee from the resort reception and spent some time wandering about the lake. It was a lovely morning and it’s fantastic down by the water. It’s not very big and really didn’t take us long to walk around. If we were more adventurous we might try some of the activities that you can do on the lake but I think the hot tub is about as much of the water experiences we want on this holiday.

Just after 12 noon we boarded a bus to Newport where we had a little look around. For some reason we found ourselves looking at Halloween decorations in B&M which is where I also bough a towel. Using the hot tub means that the provided towels don’t dry out that quickly. Whenever we go on a holiday where there is a hot tub I find myself in this predicament. I have a collection of odd towels as a result.

At 1pm we went for lunch at a place Mark had found. They were treating me for my birthday. Hewitt’s Restaurant & Rooms was really lovely, the food delicious and the service attentive. It was very quiet which we found surprising but they told us that they had a big party booking later in the day and the privateer rooms were already prepared for that. I had the lamb encroute which was delicious. Another amazing meal for my birthday.

After we spent a few hours back at the lodge we headed our to Ventnor where we had a drink watching the sunset at The Spyglass Inn before we had dinner at another lovely restaurant, TZ True Food Kitchen, in the main shopping area of Ventnor. There’s an underlying Japanese theme to the restaurant but it isn’t a Japanese restaurant. There’s a wonderful open kitchen with a view of the chefs and I was sat opposite. It was only small but was packed.

Two exquisite meals in one day. I am being spoiled this birthday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.