This is the day

By wrencottage

Gaining and Giving

This morning we had a visit from my late brother David’s partner, who is moving away to Lancashire. He came to say goodbye, and brought with him some precious mementoes that he had found stored in the loft; David’s boy scout diary, a New Testament presented to him by the Bishop of London on his confirmation and framed certificates of his Silver and Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards and Queen’s Scout Award. It was good to have them, and I shall treasure them.

This afternoon, when we went out for our walk, we came back via the Broadway to buy some bread at the delicatessen. As we passed the charity shop nearby, I popped in to ask if they were taking any new donations (recently they have been overwhelmed and couldn’t take anything more). I was delighted to hear that they were, so as soon as I got home I packed up three bags of items I’d been keeping for them and took them straight back to the shop. That should compensate for the fact that I’ve just added more things to the family heirlooms cupboard!

This mosaic is on Pankhurst Green at the Broadway. It depicts the shape of the leaves of all the trees which grow locally. I don’t think there’s any connection between the mosaic and Sylvia Pankhurst, who used to live near this site (see extras).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.