This is the day

By wrencottage

Displacement Activity

A quick photo of the beautiful orchid which my cousin Mark and his lovely French wife, Sylvie, gave me when they came to visit a week ago. It’s an emergency blip because it’s been a busy, productive and frustrating day in equal measure.

The best bit of the day was signing up for Brian Draper’s Advent series of emails which this year he’s calling "O Night Divine!". My husband and I also receive his Lent meditations and we always enjoy the thoughtful and eloquent spiritual guidance which Brian shares with all his followers around the world.

The worst bit of the day was trying to get hold of a customer service helpline, having not had a reply to an email I sent a week ago. The telephone support recorded message was really convoluted and required me to produce a 21-digit serial number and a registration number, all for a simple question about a cleaning product which I wanted to buy, but was missing from their website. I put the phone down in exasperation and tried the live chat line, only to receive a message saying I was number 49 in the queue! Unsurprisingly, I gave up. 

The rest of the day was spent doing more de-cluttering and cleaning, which I think is just displacement activity so that I don’t have to think about how awful the world news is. I’m really looking forward to Thursday when the first of Brian’s Advent emails arrives to help me focus on what really matters.

https://www.briandraper.org/advent-2022

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.