This is the day

By wrencottage

Troubleshooting

I’m back in moth prevention mode again, and spent the morning making sure the guest bedroom carpet was freshly vacuumed and sprayed with moth killer. Once the room has been fully aired tomorrow I’ll get it spick and span and the bed made up with fresh linen, ready for a guest who is staying overnight with us on Saturday.

Apart from that, and a pleasant walk around the locality with Smithers this afternoon, my main activity today has been grappling with a technology problem which I wanted to get sorted as soon as possible. 

I'm sure my fellow photographers and blippers will understand why, because I had noticed that, when I downloaded photos from my two DSLR cameras to my Mac, the time showing on the EXIF information was an hour earlier than it should be. I couldn’t understand it, because I’d changed the clocks on each camera to GMT when the clocks went back, and my Mac and my cameras were all showing the correct time, but the EXIF information on the photos was incorrect. It drove me mad!

I contacted Apple Support and a helpful employee talked me through the process. We established that when I downloaded photos to my laptop, rather than my Mac, the EXIF time was correct, so it was clearly just a problem with my Mac. I re-booted it in Safe mode and removed all login items, then re-installed them one at a time. All is now well and I can breathe again. I had visions of having to alter the time on every photo I took from now on, and wasn’t a happy bunny!

This photo was one of the many that I took as I sat at my Mac, then downloaded to see if they would have the correct EXIF information. It’s my view when I swing round in my office chair to look at my craft table behind me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.