YOU GOTTA MOVE IT MOVE IT

A very cold, grey but lovely day today.  At  last I managed to meet up with CumbraLass and Fletch in Barrow, getting there was another story!!!

CumbriaLass and I chose to meet up today, at The Dock Museum in Barrow because there is access to the facilities (for me) and we can walk along channelside for interest.

Well interesting  it was, eventually.  Quite a lot  of traffic about today.  I got all the way to Barrow and just passed the KFC, Dunelm area, then due to heavy traffic got into the left hand lane (I should have got into the right hand one) to go to the Dock Museum.  However just after the traffic lights, where I could see The Dock Museum entrance just down the road on my riight a little bit when the traffic came to a complete standstill!!!!  I was stuck there for about 10 minutes, thinking well if I'm stuck so will CumbriaLass be so don't panic.  

Eventually some cars gave up the ghost and turned round and I managed to force myself into the right hand lane so I could then ross the road to get into the entrance - someone just didn't want to let me in, but I managed it somehow!!!

I then quickly left a message on CumbriaLass's phone to say I was going to sit in the warmth of the Dock Musuem cafe and have a coffee whilst I waited for her - when she phoned me saying she was going to park in Tescoes and walk over.  Yay - she did this. I gulped down my coffee and then went to meet her.  Fletch was really  happy to see me - woohoo.

CumbriaLass informed e that they were moved a small back section of a submarine into BAE Systems which is why there was such a hold up.  As we walked along channelside, we saw it (see main photo).  Boy was it HUGE - and that is just a tiny ssection of the whole  thing!!!

It took them ages to manoeuvre it into place.  So we took some photos and then walked along channelside with Fletch, took some more photos, had a great catch up.  We then tried to go to Brewers Fayre for lunch but they do not allow dogs.  Nowhere near there does - strange as there are so many dogs in Barrow.   

Anyway Fletch is happy to sit in the car with his warm seat so CumbriaLass moved her car over to the Dock Museum car park (that is another story) and we sadly left Fletch in the car - but he was happy.

We then had some lunch and a great catch up and have booked a date to meet up in December - woohoo.  We then parted and headed for our respective homes

Oh this is also my entry for W-I-D-E WEDNESDAY - I've remembered to enter at last.  The theme today is Colourful - well I think is quite colourful so hope it it acceptable!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.