Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Relentless Dereliction

It has been raining hard all day - not a day to be outside for woman or beast.  Even the squirrels are staying in their shelters today.  But having gotten through my recent slump without missing a day, I could not let rain be the end of me.  So... I loaded the rain-a-phobic dog in the car and we went in search of something that could be photographed without leaving he actual car.  Stopped two places that were kind of "meh" and then pulled in to this old deli that has been closed for years.  The siding is wearing off and the "for sale" sign has long since been taken down.  But the Lottery signs are still in the windows, ironically.  Snapped right through the front windshield of my car.  And then I took a second shot focusing on the rain drops which I will put in Extra.  I am not sure which one I like better.  I think the main reflects the relentless marching of time and the Extra shows a relentless rain...

Jax really hates the rain so he has been relaxing in front of the fire.  I forced him to go out around 1:30 and he literally went about a foot from the back door, squatted, peed and ran back in.  He barely even got damp.  He's efficient when it suits him.  He's actually been a bit of an asshat today.  I got out a set of those cloth antlers that some dogs allow to be put on their heads for festive holiday photos.  Nope.  Jax grabbed them and refused to give them back in spite of my sternest "drop it" commands.  A stand off of several minutes ensued before I got the damned things away from him.  He's so well trained - when it suits him.  

Hammie (the Shark robot-vac) has been busy today and I have been rather sloth-like.  Tomorrow I need to get some things done!

Haven't made the dark choice yet today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.