Apple & Elderflower

My favourite soft drink! I liked the patterns made by the kitchen lights on the counter.  A refreshing drink after my return from visiting Family B this afternoon. I took them a veggie-cottage pie that I'd made in the morning, and helped sort laundry, do a tiny bit of ironing, and suchlike. They're keeping their house so warm for the baby that it felt like an oven to me. 

The whole household is exhausted, except for the Young Master, who is as contented as a baby can be and gaining weight beautifully. He is feeding every couple of hours during the day, and at slightly longer intervals by night (tiring for his mum). Problem is: poor little Miss B is unsettled. She's waking in the night and then morning arrives at any time after 5.00am - or, today, 4.00am! Then this afternoon, she became stressed when I arrived, which we soon identified as fear that my presence meant her mother would disappear. When she does sleep well, though, she's a different little girl, happy and relaxed. 

However, she fell asleep (difficult not to in the heat!) and was still asleep when I left just before their dinner time. (It had been Forest School for her this morning at Nursery, so outdoors, in the cold, damp mists, sleep-deprived; she must have been very tired, even though Wednesdays are her favourite Nursery mornings.)

It's still early days for them all to adjust to the darling new arrival. All will be well, but I fear another troubled night, as LMB won't be ready for bed early after all that daytime napping - and then she will probably wake, full of beans, long before dawn. It's hard work for them at the moment. Yet again, we are so pleased we moved close enough to help. 

As long as I don't lie awake worrying about their lack of sleep, I suspect I shall sleep like a log tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.