Open Studio In a Chapel

This morning after a coffee and catch up with a friend, I made my way to another art exhibition from the West Berkshire & North Hampshire Open Studios. This one was held in the Chapel at our Newtown Road Cemetery for the first time!

Its a good job that the rain has gone away for now, and it turned out nice and sunny for a while, because the ground was a bit muddy!

Isabel Carmona Andreu, is the artist exhibiting in the chapel. She is Spanish, but came to live here in 2002. She lives opposite the Cemetery, which is just as well, as she said to me this morning~there is no toilet there!

I absolutely loved her work, but it was busy in there and didn't seem appropriate to take photos. She had sketchbooks, collagraphy prints and pictures on display. Some beautiful work based on the cemetery and its surroundings, and other places in the world.

She works in watercolour predominantly but also draws and and makes prints full of colour. Take a look at her blog if you are interested in more here. Isabel's website is here.

More picture of the chapel in my folio. The stained glass window is apparently due to be taken away for restoration very soon!

This month I'm trying to follow Heartfreek's Photo Challenge. Today's is 'Home'. What about the 'Chapel' being a 'home' for the exhibition for a few weeks??

Incidentally, there are another 2 chapels in the area with exhibitions in them at the moment, one is also a shop! I will definately be visiting one~where mainly the textiles exhibitions are :)

Its Friday, the beginning of my weekend off but I'm still quite busy, so I've left my comments off today.

Need to settle down to working on an assignment this afternoon without falling asleep... Tomorrow I am out all day at my Study Day.

We have a bring and share lunch tomorrow. This time I'm taking chipolata sausages and roasted apple slices on cocktail sticks.

I am relieved that Sunday will be the normal day of going to Church and chilling out at home.....

Happy Friday folks, have a good one :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.