Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The ship of trees

This is the SS Ayrfield, a shipwrecked collier at Homebush bay.  There are mangroves growing very happily on it's remains.  This was taken on my way back from lunch (after a detour of dropping someone off) at about 7.30pm.  Yes it was a late lunch.  Not the best light at the time so a mono suited it better I think.

There used to be ship wrecking in this area and there are quite a few wrecks still there.  This one is quite close to the shore which is now a busy residential area of large apartments.  You are also not such a long stone's throw from Olympic park.

I am quickly posting this as I am about to hop in the car and head back to Newy.   Maggy and I are visiting the nursing homes/hospital this week so I need to get back.  I will try and catch up with journal tomorrow and apologies for lack of comments while I have been in Sydney.

Thanks for hosting Marlieske (I believe it is you this week but apologies to 60 plus if I have got it wrong).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.