Gold Shoes

Through to Glasgow - uplifted by Pete & Lynn from our back gate and then whistled along the M8 to the Premier Inn at Pacific Quay. For we were through there to see old Rod the mod. I’d never seen him, and several people I spoke to were a bit sniffy, saying he was past it, or he’d be doing his crooner schtuff. Not a bit of it. A good romp through his back catalogue and a terrific show. Yes, that’s what it was, a show, with changes of costume and some genuinely impressive visuals on the screen behind him. Top entertainment. Not bad for seventy seven. And heading back to our room we were assailed by two lassies in the lift. Best night of ma life, quoth one, before proceeding to shower us with kisses and hugs. Shucks, I think I played my part in it.

And for future reference….

Addicted to Love (Robert Palmer cover)
You Wear It Well
Ooh La La (Faces)
Some Guys Have All the Luck (The Persuaders cover)
Twistin' the Night Away (Sam Cooke cover)
This Old Heart of Mine (The Isley Brothers cover)
Forever Young
The First Cut Is the Deepest (Cat Stevens cover)
Maggie May
I'd Rather Go Blind (Etta James cover)
Young Turks
Rhythm of My Heart (Marc Jordan cover)
Hot Stuff (Donna Summer cover)

Acoustic:

People Get Ready (The Impressions cover)
I Don't Want to Talk About It (Crazy Horse cover)
You're in My Heart (The Final Acclaim)
Grace (traditional)
Tonight's the Night (Gonna Be Alright)
Have I Told You Lately (Van Morrison cover)
Lady Marmalade (LaBelle cover)
Baby Jane
Sailing (The Sutherland Brothers Band cover)

Encore:

Stay With Me (Faces)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.