The Pensioner

By Pensioner

The Dead

A trip out to that Livingston before heading back to town via the old kirkyard. And, less sentimentally, to the Asda at Longstone to pick up paper plates and napkins for next weekend’s party and prize-giving. Why am I doing this? I think the renowned mathematician could be gainfully employed.
Back to bury my nose awhile in the Sunday Papers. The other sad loss in recent days was John Byrne who I’d blipped back in 2012. Seems like yesterday, but it clearly wasn’t. 
Having settled in, we put the first fire of the winter on and watched Silver Dollar Road on Netflix. A pretty appalling tale from Carteret County, North Carolina - particularly of the legal system and the way it treats African Americans. I could have done with a bit more of a proper investigative documentary, but well done Raoul Peck who directed it. The original ProPublica article is online. I must read it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.