Sebulon

By sebrose

FTTP

I finish draft proofing the office. It does the job, but the heater struggles to warn the place up. I’m beginning to think that the portable heat pump might not be an effective way to heat a space. It used to get much warmer using the oil filled radiator.

After lunch two vans from the fibre company come to complete the installation. They drill a hole through the wall, screw a box on the outside and another on the inside, and provide a fibre modem (ONT) to plug into. A quick test with my configured router and job done. I now have Fibre To The Premises.

The best part was listening to one of the lads trade expletives on a phone call with a colleague who was installing fibre in Galashiel. Judging by the language used, he wasn’t impressed with Gala at all.

I stay at the office late, waiting for the gigabit router to be delivered. It arrives within the hour long windows that DPD promised.

I didn’t wait for parcel coming from Evri/Hermes, which was just as well. The driver decided not to bother even trying to deliver it. It has only been with them for ten days now, so I may still get it before the end of the year.

More chicken soup for tea. And garlic mushrooms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.