Living my dream

By Mima

Interloper

As I dead-headed a rose bush at K’s this morning I was startled as a blackbird shot out from beneath my hand. And looking down I saw why it was there. Four beautiful eggs were nestled there between the rose branches. I moved away quickly, while the blackbird watched me keenly from the cherry tree.

Blackbirds were introduced her in the 1900s by Brits wanting reminders of home. They have flourished.

In more bird news, Bean attracted my attention to a fluffy-feathered recently de-nested baby goldfinch inside the newly-enclosed fruit cage. It’s another introduced species, and possibly my favourite.

I hunted amongst the raspberry canes and the currant bushes for a nest, but didn’t find anything. Maybe the babe was sheltering under the foliage when I put up the net on Sunday. I very carefully lifted it up and relocated it to the pea bed where it would be undisturbed (once I’d explained to Bean that she needed to leave it alone) and where I hope it’s parents found it.

Fine mizzly rain started after lunch and has got gradually more intense all afternoon. That notwithstanding I got outside, in my waterproofs, and cut back some overgrown foliage blocking the walkway between the truck and the study. And I even did a bit of weeding, until I got fed up with cold rain trickling down my face and retired indoors for a luxurious hot shower.

Where was Bean? Guess…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.