WONDERFUL WEDNESDAY

I have been spoilt this week because this is the second morning that I have had a lie in - but I was up until after 1 a.m. after being at a meeting last night, so as I didn’t have anything on the calendar for this morning, took the opportunity to sleep for longer.

When I got downstairs, Mr. HCB told me that there had been quite a heavy frost, so you know me - as soon as I had had my first cup of coffee, I put on my warm gilet and went for a wander around the garden.  By this time it was just before 10 o’clock and the flowers and leaves were still very frosty.  I rather liked this beautifully frosted Hollyhock and when I told Mr. HCB that this was going to be my Blip for today, he said that when he was cutting down various plants a couple of days ago, he left this one because he knew I liked it so much - and today, I was really glad he had.  I have also added an extra collage showing several other beautifully frosted plants and flowers.

The sun was shining and it was just as well I went out when I did, because within 20 minutes when I went out again with my little Panasonic camera to see if I could get a better shot of the Hollyhock, it looked very different and had almost completely defrosted.

Mr. HCB was still working in the greenhouse, clearing it out so that he can spray it with Jeyes Fluid tomorrow, so I came back indoors and had a coffee, although I wasn’t cold from being in the garden.   I have finished knitting four pairs of fingerless gloves and am now making more - and am enjoying knitting again so have just spent a pleasant hour knitting and listening to David Suchet reading St. Mark's Gospel, recorded at St. Paul’s Cathedral five years ago;  what a beautiful and mellifluous voice he has and a good way to enjoy hearing the Bible read aloud.  

Listening to this brought back many memories for me of when I used to enter Scripture Reading Competitions as a Girl Covenanter when I was a teenager - I even received a shield when I won First Prize in the Final at Westminster Hall in London many years ago - see extra and this Blip, if you are interested.  At the Community Fridge on Monday, one of the men, who introduced me to the Moroccan lady, told her that I spoke very well and he could understand me quite clearly.  I knew that was what he said, because when he spoke to her in Arabic, I asked him - so all I learned many years ago has stood me in good stead all these years later!

“All that is gold does not glitter,
     Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
     Deep roots are not reached by the frost.”
J.R.R. Tolkien : The Fellowship of the Ring

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.