Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

TIS THE SEASON...

...to get your knitting out and make some more fingerless gloves.  These are for a friend who I know reads my Blips - and yes, Caroline, they are coming!!  I know it’s been a long time, but the trouble is I have got so many good books from the library that I haven’t had time to knit.  

I went to the Community Fridge at GHBC today - after a break of several months following my back surgery - where a newly formed “Knit and Natter” group - I think it should be “Knit and Knatter” - is meeting.  When I said I would like to go back and chat to people in the café, one of the ladies who runs it asked if I would go back today as they needed more people there and I could join the K & N group.

I’ve not long been home and enjoyed being back;  it was lovely to hear volunteers and customers say that they had missed me!  I did do some knitting and plenty of “nattering”and although it was a little uncomfortable sitting down at times, at least I was able to wander around and chat with others in the café who weren’t knitting!  I hope that this shot will suffice for Abstract Thursday as my fingerless glove, which I have just started, has been suitably fartnarkled to have a “frosted” look.  I see that there is no theme today, so I’m OK for once - so that’s good.

With regard to the organ pipes from yesterday - and for those who expressed interest, I looked at the St. Andrew’s Church website but couldn’t see anything about the colourful organ pipes, so decided to find a number and ring to see if I could find out any further information.

A lovely lady, named Lucy, answered the phone and told me she was the Administrator for all the churches in the Benefice.  I asked if she knew anything about the colourful organ pipes, but she couldn’t tell me much specifically about them and thought they had probably arrived like that.  She did say that a lot of work had been done on the organ in 1912, when it was re-surfaced and recessed by a Lechlade firm called  Garrards and inside the organ was a plaque to say that Lindsay Garrard had done this work in that year.  

Interestingly, Lucy had looked up “multi-coloured organ pipes” online whilst we were talking and had found reference to my Blip - such is the power of the internet!  She also asked about Blip, so another opportunity to tell someone about it.  She did say that she was going down to the Church later today to choir practice and if she finds out any more information, she will email me.  How kind of her - so if you are reading this, Thank you so much, Lucy - you are a star!  I have included an extra showing more shots of the Church - I know these were taken yesterday, but my main was taken today, so hope I will be forgiven!

I did mention to Lucy the topless and headless model in the shop window on the corner, when she said that it often has a skirt but no top - better call over there again in the Spring!  

It’s been a wet, miserable, grey and damp day today - and just after 3 o’clock it was starting to get dark and is decidedly murky now - I think our friends North of the Border would say it was “dreich”.   

Do take care and stay warm and dry if you can.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.