West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Oor Wee Show

Today has not been a good day for many reasons but I am glad to say it is nearly over... I really wasn't motivated to Blip today, in the words of the song ! felt Way Beyond Empty; my mind consumed by events so far away and wholly outwith my control. I am not much of a passive player in situations where I have an interest but sometimes interest or no you can do nothing but wait and hope!!

Tomorrow is the local agricultural show, the rain this week has made the fields entertaining for the morning. I have worked in the car park at the show for more years than I can actually remember, last year we tried to work it out and came to the conclusion it was a number somewhere north of 20! I seemed to have inherited the job of dealing with the equestrian competitors, getting the lorries and horse boxes in and parked left ramps and right ramps accommodated, room for tethered horses, chairs, tea, beer!!! There are a lot of familiar faces, locals who ride and compete with fervour and passion and they are joined by those from further afield who return year after year to what one said to me last your was one of the brawest days on the show circuit.

My apathy stretched I decided a late shot of the empty show field might serve as my emergency Blip and so it has proved, the rain off, the light faded I have done my best. I liked the clouds as they faded from light to dark and their textures, rain filled and ominous!!

Tomorrow will be horses I suspect as I will spend my day among them, it will be a good day, I dont care of the weather just nice to be able to contribute a little to ensure this little bit of village life survives

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.