BJH

By BJH

Two for the price of one

As usual I stopped at the artificial island on my way to the sanctuary this afternoon but all was quiet there so I only stayed very briefly. After my walk with Sonia, a very sweet Malinois Shepherd dog, I spent quite some time at the park picking dandelion leaves for my rabbit Rosie. It was quite a windy day but once I'd completely filled the plastic bag that I'd brought with me I thought I would try to take some photos of the insects in the area where the dandelions grow anyway. After sorting the 88 shots that I'd managed to take I had 13 left to choose an entry from. The final choice wasn't easy but I eventually decided to blip this one of a hoverfly with a greenfly hiding underneath the same flower.

On a whole different subject, some people really do get up my nose sometimes. Just after I ride out of the park on my way home there is quite a long stretch of road that goes downhill. I like that stretch very much because, when all goes well, I can let my bicycle's wheels spin freely and gather up speed the whole way down. For the last few days though I've either had other cyclists in front of me whose bicycles were slower than mine so I had to constantly use my brakes, or the traffic lights half way had been against me and turned red just before I reached them. This afternoon there was no one in front of me and the traffic lights turned green just in time so I would have been able to have a clear run downhill if it hadn't been for a group of people at the traffic lights who were blocking the cycling path! I'd already slowed down and rung my bicycle bell but I still had to almost stop completely and make hand gestures for them to get out of the way before they finally got the message. Instead of getting back onto the pavement where they belonged though, they moved a little closer towards the side of the road and still blocked half of the cycling path! What annoyed me the most though was that they looked at me as if I was the one who was in the wrong place and I'm afraid I couldn't stop myself making a comment while I squeezed past them.

All the machines and other materials are still here in our street so I thought that the workmen would have been back today but for some reason they didn't turn up and it stayed quiet again today. I must admit that I was very pleased about that for Rosie.


A big thank you for the kind comments and stars on my orchid blip from yesterday. They are very much appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.