Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas decorations

Today was another very cold and frosty day. I did not feel much better today, I have the usual symptoms I get when I have a cold which is swollen glands and a mild temperature, which leaves me feeling a bit lethargic - but no runny nose and cough.. Anyway I am sure it will pass soon (thankfully not Covid). 

Xena went out with P the dogwalker which was great as I did not feel like walking today. I went and got groceries and bought a few more small things for Christmas. 

The best news today was that the lighting engineer came to fit the new modules so we could get all our lights working again. The lighting company Lutron realised they could not leave a client without their lights working properly so they bent over backwards to secure us the three circuit boards we required, despite the 20 week back order. I suspect they reallocated lights on order for a new project to us, as a new project takes such a long time to complete that they have time to order new lights for that. It's such a relief to have lights working in our bedroom again! Also with the boys coming home for Christmas, its great to have all the lights working in their rooms.

After lunch I started and finished wrapping all the Christmas presents. And so being in a Christmas mood I took photos of some of the ornaments on our tree. I think I have shown the Xena* one before - the two on the left we bought when we were in Alaska this summer, I always like to buy decorations from places we visit as a memento. The moose in the float plane delivering presents really amused me. 
(* I also have a Murdoch decoration up on the tree)

Tomorrow Tommy is coming home for the weekend. He finished the  university term over a week ago but he is working very hard for January exams and on a paper that is to be published, but he finds it easier to work at uni where he is in a set routine, and with most other students not there during the holidays it is ideal working conditions. When he comes home he gets too distracted! He will just stay for the weekend and then go back again until Christmas.

Tonight we will get an Italian take away and watch some TV - same old routine but on a cold winter's night I prefer to stay home. Is anyone watching The English on BBC2? It has had outstanding reviews, and while I am enjoying it very much some things annoy me - like how the female lead always looks so groomed and is wearing lipstick when she is in the wild west during 1890 riding across the vast, dusty plains on horseback and sleeping under the stars at night. Not sure when she has time to pop into the cloak room to reapply her lipstick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.