Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

London Christmas Lights

It was a very wet morning so Gavin took a reluctant Xena out for a walk - he had to drag her out the car - while I got on with chores at home.

We went into the village later to get some things and had light lunch at one of our favourite cafes  - we all had the spicy scrambled eggs, it was delicious. Tommy joined us after he had been to gym and then climbing.

I have been wanting to go to London to see the Christmas lights and as the forecast was for dry weather this evening I planned to go today. We could not decide whether to go by train or by car and in the end went by car as it was easier. We found parking near St James Square and then set off, me with my tripod and camera bag trying to negotiate myself around on the busy streets. London has a population of around 9.6 million people and I swear all of them were out on the streets tonight to admire the Christmas lights! Being mild weather, a dry evening and a Saturday meant everyone was out. I could hardly use my tripod as there were too many people who kept bumping into it, it was just too busy.

We started at Fortnum and Mason to see their advent calendar lights which are hard to photograph as you cannot get far back to get a decent shot (see extra). I had to use a wide angle lens there to fit it in. Then we walked up Bond Street and New Bond Street which was extremely crowded. Some of the designer stores had spectacular decorations and the crowds were all taking photos and selfies. Then on to Oxford Street, where the lights were a bit disappointing, followed by Regent Street to see the angels where I took this blip - also an extra of one of those magnificent angels up close. Then on to Carnaby Street and back down Regent Street to the car. The pavements were so full of people you had to walk in the road at times. It was a good walk and lovely to see the lights but I was pleased to leave the busy streets and get home again.

Now it's a quiet night at home - Tommy and Inca are in London tonight at a friends party, Adam is also in London at dinner with friends and Luke is also at dinner with his friends. So all of the family were in London tonight, but not together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.