Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

C's birthday lunch

Last night we had an enjoyable time at the Skinners Company dinner, there were good speeches, (short and humorous), and the food was excellent. It was one of those formal dinners where you drink a toast to the king and grace is said before the meal by the company chaplain and then grace was also sung after the meal was eaten. Tommy enjoyed himself as he ended up knowing a few people there so had some good company. It was unfortunately a very late night, it took forever to get across the city from the dinner back to Gavin's office where his car was parked and then to drive home. Why is the traffic so bad at 11pm at night?! I finally switched my light off at 1.30pm this morning, so today I felt very tired.

My life always seems to go from nothing happening to being busy - we have a very busy weekend ahead of us. After being out late last night I enjoyed walking Xena this morning, it was sunny with blue skies and very mild - anything above 10C in winter I consider mild and today was 12C. The fresh air clears my head after a night of little sleep. 

Today I was invited to my friend's birthday lunch at her home in Guildford. I decided to go via the village to get some flowers for her (plus some other things), which was a big mistake as the traffic was awful. Why are the supermarkets and their car parks such nightmares in December? Its not as if people don't eat for the rest of the year and then suddenly go on a shopping spree in December. It took me ages to get parked at Waitrose and to go in for a few necessities. When I finally got to Guildford there was a long queue for the car park there, so I ended up getting to my friend's home 30 minutes late.

The lunch was lovely, and it was good to meet up again. The four of us at the lunch were all at university together many, many years ago! We have been friends for over 40 years! Her is a photo of the birthday girl with the cake baked by her daughter.

Tonight Gavin and I have supper out with friends, we are meeting at a pub in Dorking. It has certainly been a social day, as I said, it is either feast or famine with me!

My new year's resolution is to get out more and do more in London. There was a time, pre-pandemic, when I was in London at least once a week visiting art galleries and exhibitions, doing walking tours, enjoying the culture that this magnificent city offers. Nowadays I seldom get to London during the day. We also used to go to the theatre quite often, but in winter with people coughing around you in a non-ventilated theatre I do think twice about going. However, this attitude must change... you only live once so enjoy life while you can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.