Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Birch trees

It was so dull and grey today - thankfully it did not rain this morning as was expected, it only started around lunch time, so I had a dry walk with Xena. As I parked and got out the car to take Xena for a walk, I noticed an iPhone lying in the mud next to my car. I realised that whoever had parked there previously must have dropped their phone. I picked it up and was not sure how to contact the owner, because of course, as is the norm, it had a password on it so I could not open it. I was about to take a photo of it and put a message on Nextdoor when the phone rang, and it was the owner. She was very grateful that I had found her phone, and arranged to drive back to the woods to come fetch it, but as I was about to walk Xena she asked I leave it hidden under the wheel arch of my car.

I am going to London tonight to the Skinners Company Billesdon Dinner. The expression 'at sixes and sevens' is thought to originate from various sources, but the livery companies of London lay claim to it due to the rivalry between the Skinners and Merchant Taylors companies. It is an expression that was used by Chaucer and Shakespeare in their writing. The dinner is an annual event and while Gavin as a court member is obliged to attend most functions, I attend very few functions, but as this one is a lot of fun I decided to go to it. Tommy, as a new apprentice, is also joining us. Luke would have attended if it were not his work Christmas party tonight. We need to get an early train so I had better go get scrubbed up and dressed for the occasion! Hopefully there are no delays on the train during this week of train strikes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.