Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Our first frost this season

I got my wish and it was a frosty morning today. It has been cold all day but sunny and bright, and with the frost sparkling in the sunshine it looks really beautiful.

Unfortunately by yesterday afternoon I started feeling a bit off, I think I have caught Gavin's cold that he had on the weekend, and this morning when I woke up I felt worse. Bad luck for me I could not lie in bed,  I had to get up early as usual to get Xena up and fed and take her for a walk. (No different from when the children were young, a sick mother never gets a break). I made sure I was very warmly dressed on the walk and although I did not feel at all energetic I was okay.

This morning Gavin got the train to work - he usually drives - and when he was walking to the station a car pulled out of a T junction as he was crossing the road and hit him. He fell on the bonnet and rolled off but was absolutely fine other than feeling a little bit bruised now - it was more of a bump as the car was not going fast. It was dark of course, but the driver's car headlights would have been right on him so I think the driver was just not concentrating. The driver did not apologise and just drove off! 

I wrapped a few Christmas presents this morning but now I think I am going to go lie on the sofa and finish my book - it is an excellent book by Ian McEwan who is finally back to form with Lessons , his latest book. Hopefully I will shake this cold off very soon.

Will anyone be watching the Meghan and Harry documentary on Netflix? I would rather poke pins in my eyes definitely will not be. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.