Weather

We had lots of it today.   After a very cold night there was a hard frost this morning, something we rarely get so close to the sea on this mild coastline.  I had an early start getting the car to the garage for it's MOT and caught a view across the frosty farmland - extra pic - as I walked back to pottery at the other end of town.   A happy morning session, learning the basics of glazing options.  It's a very complex art, as many variables as make up our often unpredictable weather!   I made a start, something simple for my slab vase and the first of several glazes applied to the little thumb-pot bowl.  I'll probably make assorted smaller items to start with so that I can experiment with different glazing techniques.  Endless possibilities and promises endless fun.

Car passed but an advisory means some jobs need doing fairly soon.  At least it's fit for this month's forthcoming trips to Birmingham.   After lunch and after a heavy hail shower which coated the greenhouse in ice, I headed out with Meg for a walk beyond Bryncrug.  I'd hoped for views of snow dusted mountains lit by the setting sun but the ongoing wintery weather saw the sun disappearing behind the clouds.  So, looking west instead of east, a blip that reflects on the luck of being in the right place at the right time ... by chance rather than design.   Always something to celebrate in life.

Friday Philosophy:
“Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.”
Seneca

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.