Choices

The weather had a big impact on my Saturday.

Parkrun was cancelled. Fortunately I saw the announcement before I got changed to leave. The problem would have been frost and ice down at the park, although up at my house there was some snow too. 

The rugby I might have gone to see in the afternoon was postponed, along with all but three of the other national league games. 

That left me with a choice between football in the afternoon or ice hockey this evening. I opted for the football in the fresh air - Kelty Hearts v Linfield in the Challenge Cup. 

Kelty is a village 10 miles from here. Linfield is a Belfast team. It turned out to be a good game (a synthetic pitch) and the local team won on penalties after a 1-1 draw. 

But boy, was it cold out there. It was 1ºc at the end. I had 5 layers on and still felt it. Ironically the only player to wear gloves was Linfield's Finnish striker. 

I have never Blipped a pie hut before, so now I have set the record straight. It was a busy place with hot Bovril popular to help keep warm. 

The Extra is my view as dusk arrived - looking east, so that light is the setting sun reflected on the clouds. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.