Going to find the sunshine

Another light frosty morning and a beautiful sunny sky. I spent a while before lunch clearing up all the spare timber from the deck job and storing it under the house - we have a couple of trapdoors at the end so we can access the space beneath. As soon as I open a door then of course one of the cats goes in - Susie this time - and although I could see her eyes lit up in the distance she refused to come out. Just have to leave the door open until she decides to emerge! I tidied up the tarmac and we brought the car back up from the roadside. 

After lunch I bagged all the garden waste that I'm unable to compost and left it down at the roadside. A friend who has a nursery is going to take it for his compost heap so it will all be used. While I was down there I took the plants out of the pot on the post - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2963846610095702591 - and replaced it with a potted plant of Uncinia rubra, a reddish thin-leaved grass which seeds about a bit, but which filled the pot nicely and will last until next spring when I can replace it with something more floriferous! 

At this time of year the sun hits the east end of the house in the morning, but by afternoon it's behind the trees and the bulk of McCaig's Tower and barely lights up the tops of the shrubs on our bank. I nipped up to McCaig's, only 5 minutes away, and walked up to the viewing platform where the whole world is lit up in the sunshine - my Blip today. The island of Kerrera is in the centre with the Isle of Mull behind. On the right is the Morvern peninsular and between the two is the Sound of Mull. You can just see the Chugging Bathtub, aka 'Loch Frisa', heading towards the Lismore lighthouse on her way to Craignure on Mull. By now, 3.45, the sky is turning a beautiful colour but the sun is out of sight. We've almost forgotten what rain is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.