What Is It? I Hear you Ask

It is the first shot of the day - that's what it is.
As I filled the kettle it caught me eye flapping in the breeze it the top corner of the window.
I had to get a stool and lean over the sink to try and get a shot of it.
It is seed of some kind, caught in bit of spider web. I could tell that by the feathery tail.
The shot using the flash is probably the best one.

While waiting on the tea brewing I saw a Blue Tit shoot into the bird-box.
I waited ages for it to reappear.
If you look closely at this shot you can see where the hole has been 'enlarged' so that the shoulders can get in and out more easily. It also would appear to give somewhere to put the claws to get purchase for getting in and out.

We went out this afternoon to drop off birthday and Christmas cards at the H's (we stood out in the cold for a short chat ...they, of course, stood inside in the warm).
I took the drive up there as an opportunity to get a couple of 'snow' pictures.
After berating the incompetence of people to drive on what were basically clear roads, I stopped at this gate at the beginning of the untreated road (it is always good for a picture - or two). I then set off again(without any problem) and got maybe 200yrds round a couple of corners only to come across some idiot who was trying to go up the hill in first gear with their foot hard on the throttle. Needless to say they weren't getting anywhere - and the van behind them was fed up and starting to reverse. I wasn't going to argue (or give a lesson to an idiot), so I reversed back to the gate, turned round and went the long way round to H's. I  could have gone the even longer way round, but I turned off the main road and went up the hill on a side road. No problem!
Really - driving standards are deplorable and they need to stop having 'minimum target numbers' for passing.
It is always easy to get a picture at H's.

After getting home I went into the garage and made 4 noses. 
I was furious by the time I completed no.4 because the first 3 had all snapped off and vanished into the depths of the garage/sawdust/rubbish. It took me nearly as long to make a (usable) nose as it did the recipient.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.