Joy, and Yet...

It stopped raining in time for us to walk to church this morning, and watch the third candle being lit, and the Padre wearing pink for JOY. 

And yet... we mostly walk in darkness still. Gideon Heugh (a poet I've quoted before) has written a booklet for Advent titled Darkling (growing dark or characterised by darkness) and, now that I'm peacefully at home again, I plan to quote from it on Blip, each day, for the remainder of Advent... for myself, and for you, if you want:

If we wished for a lighter life,
It would be a life without love.
Spirit, be with me as I carry this weight.

If we wished for an unbroken life,
It would be a life without love.
Spirit, be with me as I carry these wounds.

If we wished for an uncomplicated life,
It would be a life without love.
Spirit, be with me as I carry this pain.


Gratefuls:
- being able to wish Zé Maria a happy birthday at the Adega
- lots of rain, just brilliant!
- a relaxed rest of day, catching up on my diary and Bible reading and myself, basically
- Deb, for gifting me the Gideon booklet

The stable for the Nativity in church was made by Mike at Padre Luís's request several years ago. As he said, quite satisfying to see it still in use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.