Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cardinal - Redux

I know I just posted a Cardinal in the snow, but it's just too good not to do again.  Yesterday's snowfall was really perfect - just wet enough to stick to all the branches but not so much that it caused any breakage - and no wind so the snow is staying on the branches.  Which makes for really fun photos.  This was one of 7 cardinals in the garden this morning and when he perched on our snow-covered shadbush, perfectly framed by snowy branches...well, I couldn't resist.  

Although it snowed all day and well into the evening yesterday, we only ended up with about an inch of snow.  Which is just enough to be pretty without requiring any labor.  That rarely happens.  Anyway, I took advantage of the some time outside shooting this morning.  Nothing like a little snow cover to really bring the birds in.  Even saw a Cooper's hawk strafe the feeders - sadly for her, she came up empty but hopefully she had better luck later.  She was perched at the edge of the woods for a few minutes but not in an idea spot for photos.  Better just to enjoy.  

Jax has been outside for several play sessions in the snow.  He was in a sniffing frenzy which precipitate several spontaneous burst of zoomies - I guess sometimes things smell so good that you just need to run wildly in big circles...  He does seem to love the snow which is somewhat surprising considering how little hair he has.  He's curled up in one of the cat beds now.  Of course.  

Hubs and I dropped my car off at our mechanic today after first picking up a rental car.  Seems like there may be something going on with the rear calipers (it sounds like I know what I'm talking about - I don't) so we'll have our guy look at it and render a verdict.  

Dark with cinnamon today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.