Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Illogical

Taking a bath when it's 35 F outside - the very definition of illogical.  And yet, two House Sparrows were doing exactly that.  You can see how wet this one is - how does that make any sense???

We don't get many House Sparrows in the garden, which is fine with me.  They are an invasive species in the US and commonly kill other cavity nesting birds to take over nests in the breeding season.  For that reason, I always cringe when I see them.  Having said that, I also think they are very handsome birds, especially the males with their bold markings.  

It was 19 F when I took Jax out this morning and the first time I've seen him showing signs of being cold.  He was picking his feet up and looking rather pathetic so we hurried back inside.  I will take him out again in a little while - it's warmed enough now that his feet should be fine.  Right now, he's quite happy to be snoozing in front of the fire.  

I went to deploy Hammie (our Shark robot-vac) last night only to realize that something was wrong with it.  I searched for a solution online and finally surrendered and called their support desk.  I very nice man helped me out and after about a half hour, said he was sending me a FedEx label to return it.  So as soon as Shark gets confirmation that the old unit is headed back, they will ship a new one.  In the meantime, I will have to vacuum and sweep the old-fashioned way - yuck.  

The mechanic called to confirm that the problem with my Honda was indeed the calipers.  So, rear brakes and calipers now being installed.  Ka-ching.  But considering how old the car is, I really can't complain.  We will be able to pick it up tomorrow.  Just in time for another round of snow and ice to arrive late Thursday.  Winter is here.  

I think dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.