Hoar Frost

A day of two halves, as they nearly say in the football pundit world.

This morning to Manchester for our haircuts. As usual just us and the hairdresser’s mum there. I had my usual walk, this time I went into three buildings (masked) which I haven’t entered since pre-pandemic times. M&S (for sandwiches), Waterstones (for cards) and my favourite Manchester building, the cathedral. The extra is a view looking up the nave, light streaming through the windows. Cold outside but no frost or icy surfaces and bright blue sky.

From Manchester we drove to J’s usual hospital. Completely different weather, freezing fog and hoar frost covering the trees, bushes and other vegetation. I left J at the hospital, and headed to nearby Norton Priory (extra). I had a walk outside. The frost transforms everything - a couple of examples, sycamore seeds in the blip, and a cobwebby hobgoblin in the extra. J called me from the hospital to say the expected procedure would now be happening tomorrow, other things would be happening this afternoon and I would be allowed in. So I skipped the museum, and returned to the hospital. We were there till the end of the afternoon, it was good to meet some of the nurses, they’re a great team.

A long day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.