Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The crop

I have a few tomatoes around the garden which have self seeded.  This is the crop I picked from one of them this afternoon.   It is laden so there will be more to harvest in due course.   They will go nicely with some feta and sweet basil I have growing.

And in other food news, I attempted to make a sourdough loaf last night.  I have been nurturing la mama starter for the past week and it has been bubbling away nicely.  The levain went ok, the dough was stretched and stretched but I fell down in the proofing area.   I used an old tea towel to line a mould but I did shape it properly before hand and I think I missed a step around then so it stuck to the tea towel.  I scaped what I could off and put it in a tin and baked it.  It was a bit heavy so I spent today doing my homework and watching "making sour dough bread" videos.  I will start again tonight and it will be round 2 tomorrow.  Stay tuned.....

Oh and the tinies came out to clean the tomatoes before going in the fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.