Hungry

Richard and I were writing Christmas cards at the table by the patio door when R spotted a squirrel. It must have been a very hungry one, as his or her next stop was the fading bunch of flowers in the vase on the picnic table (no flowers indoors, because of R's hay fever sensitivity).
I missed the moment when the squirrel reached up and neatly decapitated the red rose. Is there any nourishment in something like this? The squirrel certainly thought it was worth a try.
A much-cropped phone photo, taken through the window, so not great quality - but an interesting moment. 
I notice that people do leave food out for them in the park across the road, so my determination not to put anything enticing for them in the garden wasn't diminished.  They dine on any bulbs that I plant, if I fail to net them, so I reckon they don't need any encouragement... however amusing they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.