Hurry Up, Snowman, Or You'll Miss the Bus!

We awoke to temperatures just above freezing, with melting snow and misty conditions. Of course, I couldn't miss the mist show, so out I went. I walked across the road and through the development and up to the Barrens, and came across a very fine snowman someone had made the day before.

I walked into the misty woods and took a bunch of photos, and when I came back out of the Barrens, there was a school bus parked right by the snowman. Apparently there had been a two-hour delay for the local schools, and the buses were running late.

The bus appeared to wait a few minutes for the snowman to catch up. But then - hey, you, slow as molasses in January! - the bus driver apparently gave up, and left. Not just a school delay today for our friend the snowman, but a total SKIP day, as they used to call it where I'm from. So it was that the snowman did not make it into town, or school, on this day.

As I wandered around in the woods, conditions were phantasmagorical. It was hard walking, though, as the snow was wet and soggy and grainy, the consistency of wet sand. I would have to say I don't recommend it for fun's sake, but I'm sure it's good for muscle development! Work those glutes! Work 'em!

I was standing in front of a group of misty trees and took the shot which you may see in the extras. I don't know the reasons why you go to the outdoors, but I can tell you why I go there: first, because it's lovely there; but second, amid all the noise and rushing in this world, I'm trying to find and claim a few moments of grace, when time stands still. And if you need a few, this photo is for you, too.

My soundtrack songs for this foggy, melty, misty, drippy, sloggy morning are The Hollies, with Bus Stop; and the United States Army Band "Pershing's Own," with a cover of the Rush classic Time Stand Still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.