Where's .............

 ............... Biker\Bear Now?   (WBBN?)

Day Twelve:

THE BIG REVEAL.

The main photo is of a nightjar ..... could I see it???  Nope!  Fams (my lovely guide) had a pointer thingy - he put it on the bird and I STILL couldn't make it out ....... took four photos anyway and when it came up on the little laptop screen THEN I saw it!  (I actually think it looks like a toad, but there you go - lol).  Excited anyway!!!!  :o))

The numerous (and I mean num-er-ous) extras are just a taster of what we saw today in our 10 hour trip - I was out at 06.30 and walked back into my room (cream crackered) at 18.30. I know that's 12 hours but we also had driving to do each way!

Unfortunately I can't name you all the birds in the photos (some of them I know) but Fams (real name Famara) is bringing me a list on Monday of all the ones we've seen over the days.   He is featured in the first xtra along with a couple of Thick Knees (which I thought he was calling pygmies!!) with very silly expressions.

Hyena (I love them) with a pup and a ground squirrel in xtra #2.

I managed to even capture a fly in the third xtra - the bird looks a bit startled.

A favourite of mine, the Hamerkop, in xtra #4.

Xtra #5 has a partridge, an Abyssinian Roller and a woodpecker. 

#6 has drinking bowls and a very soggy birdie with a wild eye.

#7 has a very grumpy-looking owl that we trudged for about an hour to find in dense undergrowth and sharp twiggy things (and an hour back) - there were two of them roosting together but the other one had his/her head behind a branch!

Lastly, xtra #8 features a kamikaze parrot - look at that wild eye .....  a bee-eater, a hornbill (not the same as I blipped before) and some kind of bird of prey that I wish had been closer as it looked beautiful.

So there you have my selections from today ................. and Where is BikerBear Now??

She is in The Gambia!!

Very, very well done to mollyblobs who got it (amazingly) on Day 3, to jensphotos (day 5) and she even guessed the correct hotel,  Yorkshirebred on Day 8 along with Stiffknees.  I also suspect KeenKen had a good idea of my destination too although he didn't guess "out loud"!!!

Thank you all so very much for the lovely comments, stars and hearts for my photos - the quality in some is a little lacking as I could really have done with a longer lens but the 18-300mm had to do.

Sunday and Monday left - flying back to the freezing UK weather on Tuesday.   There will be some more birdies I don't doubt!!

~ Anni ~

This is Saturday uploaded on Sunday - I was just waaaaay to tired to go through the almost 800 photos I took when I got back.   It was a shower and a couple (!!) of very cold beers at the bar.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.