ALL about ME..for now

By Mobius

Nativite

I attended events at two of my churches today. Surely I must warrant  going to heaven?

Minster: Messiaen - La Nativite du Seigneur
This evening I went to the aptly titled "organ mediation" and in the atmosphere of a dimly lit and heavily incensed quire. An annual event for me.

Village: Carol Service
After much lobbying with our "leader leader" vicar, we had seven  recognisable carols to sing, which attracted a fully occupied church. Led by our reader, but headed by our vicar it seemed even more remote and high church than usual to me, and much more so than our cathedral as always. 

With many first time attendees I decided to warmly meet and greet by the door, with a jest and hugs a plenty for those where it felt right.  

The Sermon
He delivered the most long, self indulgent, dreariest, patronising and downbeat sermon on how factually correct the bible is on the birth of Christ, setting the bar at a new low. 

I couldn't bring myself to say amen at it's conclusion. The reader commented at the end of the sermon..

"I do hope everyone is joining in with amen"

Ok perhaps, I've not booked my place in heaven quite yet....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.