Caught in the act

That is, "Postman Pat" - our nickname for this visiting black and white cat - caught me in the act of grabbing a quick photo through the patio doors, just as he was tucking into a downed pigeon. He was not impressed. He took a few leisurely mouthfuls before ambling off, and then scrambling up the wall and into next door's garden.

I don't think that PP was the killer; the beheaded corpse looks much more like the work of a sparrowhawk, and we see them regularly here.  I'm hoping the sparrowhawk will be back to clear up, before I have to do it...

In other news, I see that the UK High Court has ruled as legal our government's appalling plan to deport some asylum seekers to Rwanda.  However - a glimmer of hope - it did require that a number of individual cases be reconsidered. And the large refugee charities will now appeal against the decision. It's widely agreed to be a policy that's inhumane, expensive and unworkable. So I'm sure it will be dropped or defeated eventually... however long that might take.
The run-up to Christmas seems a particularly apt time to be reading this news story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.