Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

River Liffey

Entry also written on the 28th. Using day's photos to help remember what we did.

___
Got up rather late today. First thing on the agenda was to find a place for breakfast. We walked down the street to find a place, but didn't quite find anything good. So what we did was just walk towards the Jameson Distillery. When we got there we went upstairs towards the restaurant and tried to have breakfast; however, lunch was in about 30 minutes. We just waited until 12 and then order lunch. The service wasn't really that good, but I enjoyed my food.

Afterwards we headed downstairs and bought our tickets for the Jameson tour. This tour compared to yesterday's Guinness tour was guided by a tour guide. The tour was really informative and we learned that Jameson is distilled three times to give it its smooth texture.

At the end of the tour we were able to try some Jameson. I had mine mixed with coke and ice. It wasn't bad. My brother was part of six who were chosen to do a whisky tasting in order to compare against other brands, specifically Jack Daniel's and a Scotch whisky. The Jameson tour was pretty good and I overheard some other people say they preferred it over the self tour at the Guinness Factory.

Once we finished the tour we went outside and left for the National Museum of Decorative Arts. When we got there, we checked out the Irish military exhibit. Admission was free (surprisingly) and we were free to roam about the museum. It was interesting to see all the war memorabilia. The items ranged from early Irish war history all the way up to the present.

After the museum, we went to our last Irish pub and had dinner. Dinner was good. I had fish and chips and my brother had a soup with something else (I can't quite remember). And while we were eating a band was playing, Sliotar. It was great to hear an Irish band play some Irish tunes. I had wanted to hear something like that and tonight I finally got to. The Irish dancing will have to wait for another visit to Ireland. We ate, we sat, we listened, we enjoyed the wonderful Irish atmosphere of the pub, but most of all my brother and I bonded. Going to this pub was a great way to end the night. My brother even bought the band's CD (and as I would say) to remember the night.

___
Pictured above is the River Liffey as we were walking back to our hostel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.