Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

The London Eye

Backblipping this write-up on May 31st. One more to do!

___
Got into London early today. We left our hostel in Dublin at about 4 or 5 in the morning. We got picked up by a taxi at the bus stop we were waiting at. There was a sign there to saying that taxis cannot solicit customers at the bus stop. At any rate, the taxi driver managed to get 5 or so passengers.

We left from the same airport that we had arrived, but this time we were London bound. Our flight was filled with businessmen and women. It was quite a sight. You don't see very many business dressed people in France. Tells you that the Brits and the Irish are more business oriented.

Anyway, we got to our hostel with less difficulty than Dublin. It was so nice speaking English with everyone. It was like a sneak preview of going back home except everybody spoke with a British accent. So we checked-in at the hostel, put our luggage away, and walked back to the metro stop. On the way, we had lunch at a café right at the corner. My brother had fish and chips and I had calamari and chips. The meal was okay. My fish and chips in Dublin was so much better. Then we stopped at a bookstore and picked up a guide book of London. After consulting the book we decided to go to the British Museum.

Admission was free at the museum and we just walked around. There was so much to see. The British museum could rival the Louvre...almost, except the Louvre would always win. haha. Well after walking around for a couple of hours, we rested in the central room with the glass ceiling. We both were so tired. I would even say, I was exhausted. I couldn't even sit up straight. Getting up early and then trying to explore London is a challenge. So my brother and I decided to go back to the hostel to take a nap.

After our nap, we decided to go to the London Eye. On the way to the London Eye, we happened to stop by the Waterloo station. I realized it was the location where one of the Bourne movies was shot. I think it was the middle Bourne movie that was filmed there. I may be incorrect though. Anyway, the London Eye was amazing. It's support is on side, which leaves the other side free standing. I guess that's how the Eye gets its name. When you look at the wheel from the side with no support it looks like an eye. Admission on the ferris wheel was ridiculous. I would say $50!! It was worth it though. We got gorgeous views of London and we didn't have to walk up a church tower to see it.

I do have some bad news though, as I was snapping away with my camera, my memory card died on me. Err CF flashed on the LCD on my camera. It was frustrating, but I didn't lose my cool. Err CF has happened to me before and I was able to recover my files. I wouldn't be able to take anymore photos though, so that sucked. For the next day though, I did have my other camera in my backpack, so I still was able to take pictures the following days.

After the wheel, we walked down the river and found somewhere to eat. We ate at the Giraffe. My brother had salmon and I had a hamburger with pineapple (yum.) It was a really "sympa" (nice) place. The sunset was beautiful and not to mention we had a wonderful view of London along the Thames. London requires another visit when one has a lot of money. There's so much to do, see, and explore. Anyway, afterwards we went back to our hostel and called it a night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.