Watching Courting Eider

We watched dozens of Eider in the harbour this morning. I don’t know if they pair off as early as this but some of the females were surrounded by about ten males which would chase off any other males who tried to join them. Of course they were making their funny Frankie Howard noises.
Monday is Maggie Day so we’ve had a busy one. We started with hot chocolate with marshmallows and squirty cream. Then I helped her wrap up all the pressies she’s made in the last few weeks. Then we played games and amused Geordie Maggie helped chop up the veg at tea-time. She’s a great wee helper and really kind. I get the feeling someone has said to her “be kind to your Nana, she’s old”, because she offers to help me out of chairs, or put my slippers on. “I’ll do that Nana” is her favourite phrase, I think.
She and Geordie are sound now, so peace reigns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.