Bowing to the sun

Despite it being Sunday (not Saturday), I went in search of a new place to take some pictures of the rising sun. Further out along the Mahurangi East Peninsula is Martins Bay. We go there rarely, as there is a large camping ground and is where many boaties launch their boats, as the tide doesn't matter; there's always enough depth to easily launch one's boat. We prefer the solitude below the cliff.

Although here I was looking directly at Kawau Island, not much to my right (south) there is an open passage out into the Hauraki Gulf, and the waves are substantially bigger than we get at Snells or at the little beach below the cliff. There was a bit of a wind, but not really enough to create waves like these except for the open passage to the gulf.

I watched the sun rising from behind Kawau Island, and took a number of photos, concentrating on getting the reflections of the sky in the water. Was really pleased with a number of them. Just as I decided that the sun was too far above the island, and dazzling me, this gull issued a raucous challenge.

Not to be intimidated I positioned myself and took this picture. I concede that I have cropped it slightly, top and bottom. Bottom to remove extraneous sand of little interest. Top to remove the flaring orb of the sun; it really served little purpose other than to distract from the gull. The effects of the sun are well seen in the water, and with the rays.

Really worth looking at large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.