Nightmare

Most of today was organising.  I am now in the last few days before I start my new job and all the painting is complete but my new desk is not being delivered until next week so I have to put much of the room back together again.  

When the new desk comes it will be a sit-stand desk and doesn’t have any drawers. I am in two minds about ordering a pedestal but I would rather not as I think it will be a magnet for even more clutter. So, I have had to start to find a new home for the items in the existing deck drawers. The main part contains lots of household paperwork that I think I will scan. The top drawer, however, is full of things that I either use while I working or do not have a natural home. 

One of the items that I don’t know what to do with is this laminated card which was worn around my neck on a lanyard when we went to see The Nightmare Before Christmas live show at Wembley Arena in December 2019. I really love the film and the live event, which was built around Danny Elfman’s brilliant music, was a superb evening: a poster from this concert hangs behind me while I sit working. I still have this souvenir (and, to be honest, a mug and a notebook in a bag on the other side of the room).  I think it may be one of those things that is thrown away as it doesn’t really have any use and, living in a drawer, I don’t look at it that often. It is, however, a reminder of a fantastic night and that’s why I may declutter it but keep this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.