Fools Rush In...

.... where some of us fear to tread....the MALL! ...the week before Christmas...What was I thinking? 

I had not been to the mall since before Covid...and there I was today..on a dreaded mission..to return an Eddie Bauer jacket I had ordered online! Searching for a parking spot - any parking spot, elbowing my way through maskless crowds, standing in line to get my refund. All those people. More people than I had seen in three years of social isolation! Yikes!

I got my refund, but it took forever... OMG. I cannot imagine trying to actually shop, try things on or make gift decisions in that chaos...I know that the mall does not look busy in the photo...that is because the shoppers were not in the halls, they were crammed into the shops! Especially into Indigo Books..The fastest way to my area of the parking lot was through that store, so I chose to take it... 

What a zoo..The place was packed and the line up for the cash registers was set up like the roped rows at the airport to go through customs! The only spot in that store where you could breathe ( or take a photo) was the magazine rack (extra) ..all very nice to browse there but if you decided to actually buy one, call home to say you will be late for dinner...you'll be in line for hours...

I couldn't wait to escape..I just wanted to go home and put my feet up. I had lots of errands to do but they could wait...I was worn out. Am too old for this...I had at least completed my new medical tasks earlier in the day - got my x-rays and blood work done and picked up my new prescriptions. It was time to go home, put on the kettle and slice off a piece of that fruit cake. 

Big storm coming Thursday through Saturday, so tomorrow will be the best day to get everything else I need done for Christmas..Better rest up tonight to prepare for the crowds...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.